How Desklog Works

1. How does Desklog Work?

Once the users are added to the Desklog company account, they will be able to receive the invitation with credentials to log in to the Desklog. The admin or the Desklog owner will be able to track the user.

Desklog will be able to track Applications, URL’s, Documents, etc. The Desklog owner or the admin will be able to categorize the tracked application as either Productive or Non-productive or Neutral apps. Depending on what type of application is accessed by the user the productivity graph is displayed. The auto screenshots of the working window of the user will be captured every few minutes.

Refer to question 2 under section 1.2 to know how the users are tracked.

2. What is the difference between Time At Work and Productive Time?

The total amount of time spent by the user on the system is called the Time At Work and this time is the sum of productive time, neutral time, non-productive time.

The time spent on the productive application is called the productive and similarly, on other types of applications, it is called non-productive or neutral time.

3. What you can get to know from the Dashboard of the Desklog

You will be able to view the below details on the dashboard of Desklog.

dashboard

  • Arrival time: Time at which user arrived.
  • Left time: Time at which user went offline or logged off. Also displays the status of the user when the user is available online.
  • Time at Work: Time spent at work by the user during the working hours.
  • Productive: Total productive time spent on the productive apps during the working hours.

  • The displayed task details are as follows:

  • Tasks: The total number of assigned tasks which includes new tasks and pending tasks.
  • Projects: The number of assigned projects.
  • Completed Tasks: The number of completed tasks.
  • To Do Task: The number of newly assigned tasks.

  • The different reports highlighted in the above screenshot are as follows:

  • Productivity Graph: Pie chart representing how you spent time on productive or neutral or non-productive apps.
  • Work Graph: Pie chart representing the worked time vs idle time vs private time to understand how often you go idle or avail private time during your working hours. Idle time is the time when the application is running and there is no activity after certain specific minutes (3 or 5min) will be recorded as idle time. Private time is the time interval or the break time availed by the user when the user goes offline or by switching off the system and returns back online.
  • Productivity Bar: Each bar of the graph represents the combined time spent on productive, neutral, and non-productive apps. Each bar is differentiated with three different colors to know the three different times spent during hourly intervals.
  • Report Graph: It is a combined graph of the completed task time, productive and idle time for the day or for the week or the month.
  • Categories: Apart from the above discussed three categories, you may also spend time on other categories like social media, office apps. Here you will get to know that

  • Three different App categories are displayed at the bottom of the dashboard

  • Productive Apps: List of productive apps accessed by the user and the time spent on it.
  • Non Productive Apps: List of non-productive apps accessed by the user and the time on it.
  • Neutral Apps: List of neutral apps accessed by the user and the time spent on it.
  • Note: View all these details for the day, week, month, or for the last three months by clicking on the appropriate tabs as highlighted in the top of the screenshot.

    4. How does the screen monitoring feature work?

    An automated screenshot captures the screenshot of the working window every few minutes. The access to view the screenshots will be provided to an authorized superior or the Desklog owner to track the real-time spent by the individual or a team member to complete the task.

    Once the user is registered as a team member or as a single user with your Desklog account, there is an option for the user to go online or go offline. The screen capturing feature will work only if the user is online. When the user clicks on the “go offline” feature, the screen capturing will not work.

    screenshots

    5. How URL & App Tracking feature work?

    The employer or the organization owner or the admin needs to configure the settings in order to enable the URL tracking feature. In the settings module of the Desklog, You can add any URL as either productive or non-productive or neutral depending upon the teamwork and project-related work.

    Note that the same URL which is productive for a team may not be productive for another team. It depends upon the task and project.

    When the employee starts working after logging into the Desklog, the accessed URLs are recorded and the same can be viewed only by the employer or the admin or by the Desklog owner. It shows the list of productive, non-productive, neutral URLs accessed by the employees. Finally, here you can analyze the productivity of the employee with the recorded data.The % time spent on the application is also tracked.

    6. What is document title tracking?

    The title of the specific document or program accessed by the employee with recorded real-time spent on the document is tracked. This feature is called document title tracking. The title of all the documents accessed by the employee is tracked.

    7. What is a private time option and how to avail private time?

    Private time option is the option to go offline during non-work-related calls or during break time. You need not log out of the application, instead, you can go offline to stop tracking your working hours.

    To avail of your private time, right-click on the Desklog icon on the taskbar as shown in the below screenshot and click on “go offline” and once you resume your work after your break time, click on “go online” option.

    logout exit

    8. What is the difference between Idle time and Private time?

  • Idle time is the time when the application is running and there is no activity after certain specific minutes (3 or 5min) will be recorded as idle time.
  • Private time is the time interval or the break time availed by the user when the user goes offline or by switching off the system and returns back online.
  • << Back to Home